March 2015: 11 songs, 4 days, a disparate bunch of legendary musicians and artists come together in a tiny Neapolitan village. Nourished by the warmth, peace and pace of village life, and soaked in southern Italian sunshine, wine and melodies, Loco Ironico was born.

The brainchild of British singer-songwriter Joe Cang and Italian musician and composer Matteo Saggese, the album ‘Carpe Afternoon’ engineered by Jerry Boys features, amongst others, Phil Manzanera, Sarah-Jane Morris, Danny Cummings and Steve Sidwell.

Songs of heartache, shipwreck and weight loss that draw on New Orleans jazz, Cuban tango and calypso. As Joe says: ‘This is music for those with a taste for the ironic and laconic and for those who prefer whisky to tonic

With special appearances from: Phil Manzanera, Sarah Jane Morris, Peppe Servillo, Steve Sidwell, Tony Remy and Ben Castle.


Matteo Saggese (Piano)

Born in southern Italy, Matteo is a musician and songwriter, who has also written, arranged and produced for Phil Manzanera, Celine Dion, Il Divo, Zucchero, Nina Hagen, Celentano and Alfie Boe.

Joe Cang (Vocals)

London born singer, writer and multi-instrumentalist Joe released his first solo album after being signed by Clive Davis to Arista records. He has toured, recorded and written with Ian Dury, Scritti Politti, Desmond Dekker, Hall and Oates, Marianne Faithfull and Aswad.

DANNY CUMMINGS (Drums & Percussion) has recorded with Tina Turner, George Michael, Elton John, Simply Red, Mark Knopfler, Depeche Mode, Bryan Adams and Dire Straits.
JOHN PARICELLI (Guitars) was one of the founding members of the British big band Loose Tubes, and has worked with Annie Whitehead, Kenny Wheeler, Norma Winstone, Lee Konitz and Peter Erskine.
DAVIDE MANTOVANI (Double Bass) has played with Lisa Stansfield, Tony Allen (Fela Kuti), Baaba Maal, Andy Sheppard, Jason Rebello, and Nana Vasconcelos.
JERRY BOYS (Sound Engineer) 4 x Grammy winner including the Buena Vista Social Club. He has worked with The Beatles, Pink Floyd, The Rolling Stones, REM, Ry Cooder, Ibrahim Ferrer, John Lee Hooker, Yehudi Menuhin, Ali Farka Toure, Shakira, and Baaba Maal.